For the last five years Eli Roth has managed to keep himself busy without directing a single movie. He starred in Quentin Tarantino’s Inglorious Basterds, had a cameo in the film Piranha 3D, and even produced The Last Exorcism. Now Roth is finally signed on to direct his first film in five years entitled The Green Inferno. Worldview Entertainment has come onto produce the film, with the script being written by Roth and Guillermo Amoedo. Roth had this to say about the film:

“I’ve had an amazing few years producing, writing and acting, and am very excited to get back in the director’s chair. I’ve been working on this idea for several years, and was inspired by filming in Chili and cannot wait to get back. Worldview backs my vision and believe in me, and is giving me the support I need and the freedom to take risks and make something daring and terrifying.”

So far no plot details have been released, but the film has been planned to shoot in Peru and Chile this fall. I have been anticipating Roth’s return to the director’s chair for quite some time now, so I’m pleased to finally hear about what his next film will be. If I had to predict, I would guess that the film will be about a vacation-gone-wrong in the tropical jungles. Eli Roth is an extremely influential horror director, so it will be interesting to see if this film can live up to his past standards. Having been a fan of his previous three films, I plan to follow this story very closely.

