This past week was very exciting in regards to trailers. We got our first look at Quentin Tarantino’s Django Unchained, The Perks of Being a Wallflower starring Emma Watson, and Disney’s upcoming Wreck-It Ralph. Check out all of this week’s trailers below.

 

Django Unchained

Quentin Tarantino is one of my favorite directors, so my expectations were high in regards to his newest film. After having viewed the trailer, my anticipation for the film has grown even greater. This is truly a Tarantino film, filled with stylized violence and humorous dialogue. The use of a James Brown song in a western may seem like an impossible feat to pull off, but it is the perfect fit for Tarantino. I sincerely hope that he will use more songs like this in the actual film. Performance wise, everybody appears to be doing a great job, but Leonardo DiCaprio is the clear standout. I don’t want to speak too soon, but if his performance is as good in the actual film as it is in the trailer, than we might see him secure his first Oscar win. The film may look a little too similar to Inglorious Basterds, but the plot seems to be a little more straightforward than his previous film. We will all be able to unwrap this entire present, when the film is released this Christmas.

 

 

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

I’m a big fan of Emma Watson, so I was looking forward to this film just because she was in it. But I must say that this film actually appears to be fairly interesting. I have not read the book that the film is based on, but I hope to read it before it is released. The performances from the three leads appear to be very good and Emma Watson is as charming as ever. Thanks to the use of the song “It’s Time” by Imagine Dragons, this is a trailer that I cannot get out of my head.

 

 

Wreck-It Ralph

After learning that this film would contain cameos from actual video game characters, I was really looking forward to it. In the trailer, we see appearances from Bowser, a ghost from Pac-Man and a zombie from House of the Dead. While it was cool to see these characters in a movie, the rest of the trailer is pretty awful. They are clearly trying very hard to get kids interested, because the humor in this film is very juvenile. Also, the use of the song “Good Feeling” by Flo Rida feels tacked on and it completely ruins the second half of the trailer. On a positive note, the visuals for the film look very good and John C. Reilly and Sarah Silverman appear to give great voice performances. But unless Disney can release a better trailer, my interest in the film has plummeted.

 

 

Flight

I actually didn’t know anything about this film before viewing the trailer, which might be why I enjoyed it so much. I was expecting a bland movie about an airplane, but this film actually looks really good. Denzel Washington appears to be as excellent as he always is and the visuals for the film (particularly in regards to the crash) are astounding. This could be a case of a trailer that is better than the actual film, but hopefully it won’t be. In any case, this is a film that I will be looking forward to.

 

 

Other trailers released this week include 360 and The Babymakers.

 

360

 

 

The Babymakers

 

